Program development

The College Education Committee (CEC) established the Accreditation Renewal Working Group (ARWG) to develop and implement a program of work to renew the RACP Training Provider Accreditation Program.
The ARWG’s key responsibilities are to:

  • develop an accreditation program for physician training and phased implementation plan
    develop accreditation standards that support competency-based curriculum
  • standardise accreditation processes across training programs and incorporate them into the accreditation program 
  • include in the accreditation program the plan for recruiting, selecting and training the accreditation assessment team
  • make recommendations to the CEC in relation to the requirements of the accreditation program and implications of the changes
  • mitigate and report to the CEC on risks associated with Accreditation Renewal

Read the Accreditation Review Working Group Terms of Reference (PDF).

Development approach

The ARWG has carried out an extensive review of the literature and accreditation practices nationally and internationally, which identified compelling reasons for change. The outcome was the development of an Accreditation Program informed by:

  • medical education and accreditation literature
  • approaches and components of national and international practice
  • feedback from extensive consultations with members, jurisdictions, key stakeholders and experts in the field of accreditation

Group members

Associate Professor David Watson AM, Chair

Professor Michael Ackland PSM

Dr Pita Birch

Dr Gavin Chin

Dr Paul Huggan

Dr Garry Inglis

Dr Kate Kearney

Associate Professor Alistair Reid

Dr Stephen Robinson

Dr May Wong

Associate Professor Michael Woodward AM

Associate Professor Solomon Yu

Close overlay