

Paediatrics & Child Health Division

RESEARCH COMMITTEE

END OF YEAR COMMUNIQUÉ DECEMBER 2014

Dear Fellows and trainees,

The PRC is very pleased that the PCHD Council endorsed the <u>PCHD Statement on</u> <u>Research for Children and Young People, September 2014</u>. The Statement notes that 'research for children and young people [across Australia and New Zealand] needs to recognise that their realities are very different from those of adults and take into account and respect their unique concerns, needs and value systems' and it expresses support for 'more research for children and young people, to generate new evidence in support of best clinical practice and to guide the decisions and actions of governments and others who can impact on the well-being of children, young people and their families / whanau'.

The Statement was submitted to the College Research Committee (CRC), of which I became Chair earlier in the year. Dr Harriet Hiscock, a PRC representative is also on the CRC. The PRC recently gave its support to the CRC developed *RACP Health and Medical Research Strategic Plan 2014- 18*, particularly supporting the Research Foci 2014 – 2018. View it here.

The PRC discussed the RACP Ethics Review, RACP workforce activity, development of an RACP Academic Policy, the recommendations of RACP Research Project Working Group (related to College research project requirements), as well as Continuing Professional Development (CPD). Please be reminded that teaching / supervision, including research, by clinical practitioners is eligible for MyCPD.

Also note that you may claim MyCPD under Category 1: Research at 1 credit per hour when using the excellent Australian Paediatric Research Network (APRN) resource 'How to Conduct Research'. The Australian Paediatric Surveillance Unit (APSU) developed a Systematic Review Resource and this has been linked to the APRN research resource. You may access this via the <u>RACP MyResources gateway</u> or the APRN and APSU websites.

Congratulations to Dr Catherine McAdam and the paediatric working group for the paediatric component of the College Congress in May this year. The Congress provides an important forum for clinical updates and breakthrough research, as well as support to researchers through a number of awards.

It is pleasing to hear that in 2014 a higher number of paediatric applicants applied for awards. All awards, prizes (and similar) are now managed through the RACP Foundation and the related governance is being updated. The PRC re-iterated that judges of awards are to have research skills and experience.

Once again, congratulations to the following winners of PCHD related awards:

- Dr Jane Harding presented 'The life-long legacies of perinatal management' at the College Congress and was presented the 2014 Howard Williams Medal.
- Dr Andrew Hardy Procedural and resuscitation requirements for paediatricians working in a non-tertiary centre: Implications for training, The Wiley New Investigator Award.

- Dr Caroline Mahon Increased Incidence of Pleural Empyema in New Zealand Children: A Retrospective Review of Paediatric Empyema and Parapneumonic Effusion in South Auckland 1998-2012, Rue Wright Memorial Award.
- Dr Rachel Noovao Investigating Fragile X Syndrome in Paediatrics can we rationalise our current practice?, Best Poster Prize in Paediatrics & Child Health.

In addition, congratulations to the following paediatricians who were successful in the RACP awards and prizes:

College Awards – paediatrics

- Dr Sarah Curnow, the 2014 College Examination Medal in Paediatrics & Child Health for best overall performance in the combined Written and Clinical Examination
- Dr Marie Rauter Findings from comprehensive health screening of children in outof-home care: The health of 4-6 year olds in southern Tasmania compared to peers, RACP Trainee Research Award for Excellence in the field of paediatric medicine.

College Awards - paediatricians

- Dr Yvonne Anderson, NZ Research Development Scholarship
- Dr Mary Berry, Fellows Research Establishment Fellowship.
- Dr Emily Blyth, The Robert Maple-Brown Research Establishment Fellowship.
- Dr Philip Britton, the inaugural RACP PCHD NHMRC Award.
- Dr Sally Kellet, Margorie Hooper Scholarship.
- Dr Natalie G. Martin, New Zealand Research Development.
- Dr Dylan A. Mordaunt, Dr Helen Rarity McCreanor Travelling Fellowship.
- Dr Johan Morreau John Sands Medal 2014
- Dr Joshua Osowicki, Richard Kemp Memorial Fellowship.
- Dr Bhavna Padhye, Kids' Cancer Project Research Entry Scholarship.
- Dr Kenneth Pang, The Miriam Greenfield RACP Research Establishment Fellowship.
- Dr Bryony Ryder, NZ Dr Helen Rarity McCreanor Travelling Fellowship
- Dr Tobias Strunk, AstraZeneca Research Establishment Fellowship in Medical Research.
- Dr Roger Tuck, John Sands Medal 2014.
- Dr Moya Vandeleur, ResMed Foundation/Sleep Health Foundation Research Entry Scholarship.

The PRC continually reviews its governance and this year the <u>Terms of Reference</u> was updated so that the Chair may be nominated by the PRC for a second and third term. All terms of <u>PRC members</u> have been updated to align with RACP elections cycle, this means the next round of EOIs are scheduled for May 2016.

This year we bade farewell to Prof Brian Darlow (NZ) and Prof Anne Cunningham (co-opted) and welcomed Professor Andrew Day as the appointed representative from New Zealand, Dr Tony Huynh as an appointed representative, Dr Mark Garden as the trainee representative, and Dr Nicholas Cheng as the nominated education representative. My ongoing thanks go to Professor Keith Grimwood, A/Professor Yvonne Zurynski, Dr Harriet Hiscock, Dr Nicholas Wood and Dr Ralf Heine for their continued contribution.

The Committee has exciting activity ahead of us in 2015 and with this in mind I look forward to representing you in 2015.

Prof Paul Colditz Chair, PCHD Research Committee