AChPM Committee Communiqué July 2018

The Chapter Committee met on 15 June 2018 at the RACP Office in Sydney and welcomed three new members: A/Prof Brian Le, A/Prof Leeroy William and Dr Alison White.

The Committee resolved to directly email a post-meeting communique after each meeting to improve its communication with palliative medicine Fellows and Trainees.

This communique highlights the key issues discussed at the 15 June meeting. If you have any questions, feedback or comments, or would like to raise any issues with the Chapter Committee, please don’t hesitate to contact us via our secretariat at

AChPM Committee July 2018
(L-R): A/Prof Peter Poon (AChPM Representative on College Council), Dr Amy Waters (Chair – Training Committee in Palliative Medicine), A/Prof Leeroy William (Committee Member), Dr Michelle Gold (President-elect), Prof Greg Crawford (President), Dr Martha Mherekumombe (Paediatrics Representative), Dr Gauri Gogna (Trainee Representative), Prof Meera Agar (ANZSPM President) and A/Prof Brian Le (Committee Member).

2019 Planning

The Committee reviewed the work completed in 2018 and formulated its key priorities for 2019. In 2019, the Committee will be seeking to pilot and evaluate a Spirituality Training Workshop, based on the recommendations of the Spirituality Training Working Party. The Committee will also be investigating if another online training module could be developed in a similar format to the existing pain management module.

Education and Training

Trainee numbers update

There are currently 91 FRACP pathway trainees, 41 Chapter pathway trainees, and 121 Clinical Diploma trainees.

Training Committee membership

The Training Committee in Palliative Medicine (TCPM) is seeking expressions of interest from palliative medicine Fellows for two upcoming vacancies – the Lead in Assessment for Chapter Trainees (currently occupied by Dr Peter Eastman) and the Lead in Site Accreditation for NSW, ACT, SA and TAS (currently occupied by A/Prof Ghauri Aggarwal). Dr Eastman and A/Prof Aggarwal are retiring after both serving six years on the TCPM. On behalf of the Chapter Committee I thank them for their tremendous contribution to training over the past six years. To obtain an EOI form please contact the TCPM’s secretariat Sinead McElhinney on

Facebook page for palliative medicine trainees

The ANZSPM operates a Facebook page exclusively for members who are Advanced Trainees in Palliative Medicine. ANZSPM Trainee members can join this online community to network with colleagues, share educational material and support each other through training. To join, please email providing your Facebook profile link and you will be sent an invite.

Trainee teleconference

AChPM Committee Trainee Representative, Dr Gauri Gogna, and TCPM Trainee Representative, Dr Gillian Mitchell, regularly organise teleconferences for Advanced Trainees in Palliative Medicine to network and discuss issues that Trainee Representatives can raise with their respective Committees. The next teleconference will be held at 12pm AEST, Thursday 11 October 2018. Supervisors are encouraged support their Trainees by enabling them to take the time to participate in the teleconference if they wish. Further details will be circulated closer to the date.

Prescription Opioid Misuse Stakeholder Discussion

Prof Greg Crawford attended the Australian Government Department of Health Prescription Opioid Misuse Stakeholder Discussion as the AChPM representative and Palliative Care Australia representative in Melbourne on 1 June. The meeting included a discussion on the risk to appropriate prescribing of opioids for palliative care patients in general practice as a potential unintended consequence of recent opioid restrictions.

Member Engagement

At its recent meeting the Committee discussed Fellow and Trainee engagement and how engagement could be improved over the next two years. The Committee welcomes any suggestions from Fellows and Trainees about how to achieve this goal.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the AChPM Committee will take place on Friday 31 August 2018 via teleconference.

Prof Greg Crawford
President, Australasian Chapter of Palliative Medicine
Close overlay