The President's Message - 11 March 2016

College elections give you the opportunity to make a leadership decision about the future of the RACP.

In the next three weeks you can cast your vote for candidates nominated for President-Elect of the College, Presidents-Elect of our two divisions, and one of our faculty President-Elect positions.

There is a lot of positive change underway within the RACP that requires strong and experienced leadership.

I’d like to personally congratulate all of our candidates for their commitment to our membership in accepting nomination.  Below is a brief history of their respective RACP office holding experience*  

* information as shown in the College’s administration system.

College President-Elect

Associate Professor Mark Lane – FRACP

Mark is a gastroenterologist currently practising in Auckland as well as working in private practice.

Director, RACP Board, 2012 – present 
NZ President, RACP, 2014 – present
NZ President-Elect, 2012 – 2014
Chair, NZ Committee, 2014 – present
Chair, Fellowship Committee, 2014 – present
Chair, RACP Congress Organising Committee, 2013 – 2014
Chair, NZ Specialties Board, 2002 – 2007
Member, College Policy and Advocacy Council, 2013
Member, Fellowship Committee, 2012 – 2014
Member, NZ Committee, 2012 – 2014

Associate Professor Alasdair MacDonald – FRACP 

Alasdair is Director of Medicine at Launceston General Hospital in Tasmania.

Chair, College Council, 2015 – present
RACP Board Executive Member, 2012 – 2014
Director, RACP Board, 2010 – 2014
President, AMD, 2012 – 2014
President-Elect, AMD, 2010 – 2012
Member, AMD Council, 2007 – 2014
Member, AMD Executive, 2008 – 2014
Chair, AMD Policy and Advocacy Committee, 2010 – 2012
Chair, Board Committee on International Affairs, 2011 – 2013
Member, College Policy and Advocacy Committee, 2010 – 2012, 2014 – present
Member, Tasmanian State Committee, 2006 – 2014 (including acting Chair)
Member, RACP National Examination Panel, 2006 – present
RACP Medal for Service, May 2015 
President, IMSANZ, 2007 – 2010
Past DPE, Internal Medicine, 2009 – 2010

Professor Philip Morris – FRANZCP, FAChAM

Philip is a psychiatrist working in private practice and addiction medicine on the Gold Coast, a specialist physician in Addiction Medicine, a Psychogeriatrician, and a Senior Medical Advisor to the Department of Veteran’s Affairs.  

Chair, AChAM Chapter Committee QLD, 2014 – present
Member, Foundation working party AChAM, 2000 - 2002
Director, Board of Pacific Rim College of Psychiatrists

Professor John Wilson – FRACP

John is a Respiratory Physician, Chair of Senior Medical Staff, and Head of the Cystic Fibrosis Service at The Alfred Hospital in Melbourne.

Director, RACP Board, 2010 – present
Chair, Board Subcommittee on Risk Management, 2011 – 2012
President, AMD, 2014 – present   
President-Elect, AMD,  2012 – 2014
Chair, Training and Environment Panel, Education Strategy, 2004 – 2005
Chair, AMD Education Committee, 2008 – 2012
Chair, Education Governance Implementation Working Group, 2012 – 2015
Chair, College Education Committee, 2012 – 2014
College Councillor, 1996 – 1998 and 1999 – 2000

AMD President-Elect

Associate Professor Nick Buckmaster – FRACP

Nick is a General and Respiratory Physician and Director of Internal Medicine for the Gold Coast Healthcare Service District.

Director, RACP Board, 2014 – present
AMD Council, 2010 – 2014
Member, College Policy and Advocacy Council Advisory Committee, 2013 – 2014
Member, College Policy and Advocacy Council, 2013 – 2014
Deputy Chair, College Policy and Advocacy Council Advisory Committee, 2014 – present
Deputy Chair, College Policy and Advocacy Council, 2014 – present
Member Acute and General Medicine Advanced Training Committee, Lead Fellow Overseas Trained Physicians and Deputy Lead Fellow Accreditation, 2013 – present
President, IMSANZ, 2010 – 2012
Member, IMSANZ Board of Directors, 2012 – present

Professor Paul Komesaroff AM – FRACP

Paul works as an adult endocrinologist and Professor of Medicine at Monash University and the Alfred Hospital in Melbourne.
Chair, Ethics Committee, 1998 – 2002
Member, Ethics Committee, 1994 – 1997
Chair, College Ethics Expert Advisory Group, 2007 – 2013
Editor, Ethics, Internal Medicine Journal, 2004 – present
Member, Therapeutics Expert Advisory Group 2006 - 2010

PCHD President-Elect

Dr Paul Bauert OAM – FRACP

Paul is ​Head of Paediatrics at Royal Darwin Hospital.

Member, PCHD Council, 2005 – 2008
Member Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander Health Committee, 2012 – 2015
Member Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander Health Expert Advisory Group 2008 - 2010

Professor Paul Colditz – FRACP

Paul is the Foundation Professor of Perinatal Medicine at the University of Queensland and Director of the Perinatal Research Centre.

Director, RACP Board, 2014 – present
Chair, College Research Committee, 2014 – present
Member, PCHD Council, 2011 – present
Member, PCHD Executive Committee, 2013 – present
Chair, PCHD Research Committee, 2013 – present
Member, Scientific Program Committee, ICP, 2012 – 2013 
Member, PCHD Policy & Advocacy Committee, 2009 – 2013
Member, PCHD Research Committee, 2008 – 2011
Member, Paediatric Scientific Program Committee, 2002 – 2003
Paediatric Representative, Board of Continuing Professional Development, 2003
Member, Scientific Program Committee, ASM, 2002
Member, Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Māori Health Committee, 1999 – 2002
Member and Chair, Scientific Program Committee, ACP (prior to merger of ACP and RACP in 2001)

AFOEM President-Elect

Dr Beatrice Byok – FAFOEM

Beatrice is in private practice in Adelaide and is also a contracted medical consultant to
ReturnToWork SA.

Member, AFOEM Council, 2011 – present

Dr Amanda Sillcock – FAFOEM

Amanda is in private practice in Brunswick, Victoria.

Now is the time you can spend a few minutes to make a key decision that will affect our College for the next two years.

You will only ever be contacted by the College from an email address.

However, some candidates may reach out to you individually through their own networks from other email addresses.

Remember, once cast, you may change your vote at any time before 5pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on Monday, 4 April 2016.

I encourage all members to ensure they cast their vote for their preferred candidate for these leadership roles, to play a part in shaping the future direction of the RACP.

If you have any questions please email

Laureate Professor Nicholas Talley
President RACP

Close overlay