Program structure

RACP Curriculum Model

The new Advanced Training Programs will shift to a hybrid time- and competency-based training model, aligned with the RACP curriculum model.

RACP curriculum model

The new RACP curriculum model has been developed to align with international best practice and workplace learning.

The model is made up of curricula standards supported by learning, teaching, and assessment programs and is supported by our Professional Practice Framework.

Curriculum standards

The curriculum standards outline the educational objectives of the training program and the standard against which trainees’ abilities are measured.

BE Competencies Curriculum model


Common for all Advanced Training Programs

These are statements of professional behaviours, values and practices expected of a trainee as they adopt the professional identity of a physician. Competencies are organised by the domains of the Professional Practice Framework.

DO Entrustable Professional Activities curriculum model

Entrustable Professional Activities (EPA)

Each Advanced Training Curriculum will contain a mix of common EPAs and program-specific EPAs

EPAs are essential work tasks that can be delegated, observed and assessed.

KNOW Knowledge Guides curriculum model

Knowledge Guides

Knowledge Guides will provide detailed guidance to trainees on the important topics and concepts trainees need to understand to become experts in their chosen specialty.

Program contentATCR standards chart

The Advanced Training Curricula will comprise of a mix of program-specific content and content that is common across all Advanced Training Programs where possible. The Curricula will be supported by a learning, teaching and assessment program.

Learn more about the Common Standards for Advanced Training.

Close overlay