AChSHM Committees

The Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine (AChSHM) supports the professional careers of all Fellows and trainees of the Chapter. Alongside other relevant College Bodies and staff, the AChSHM works on these aspects as they relate to sexual health medicine:

  • education, training and assessment of trainees
  • education, continuing professional development and quality performance of Fellows
  • policy and advocacy
  • the assessment of overseas trained professionals
  • research
  • workforce

The AChSHM Committee is the peak decision-making body for the Chapter, promoting and advancing the body of knowledge of sexual health medicine within the College.

For more information, read the Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine By-law (PDF) and join the AChSHM Community at the RACP Online Community (ROC).


AChSHM Committee

Dr Massimo Giola, Chair and AChSHM President

Clinical Professor Louise Owen, President-elect

Dr Stephanie Bond, Committee Member

Dr Vincent Cornelisse, Committee Member

Dr Rose Forster, Aotearoa New Zealand Representative

vacant, Committee Member

Dr Swaminathan Balasubramanian, Chair, Training Committee in Sexual Health Medicine (TCSHM))

Dr Fabiola Aghakhani Zandjani-Martin, Committee Member

Associate Professor Catherine O'Connor, Committee Member

Associate Professor Jason Ong, ASHM Representative

vacant, Policy and Advocacy Lead

vacant, Trainee Representative

Training Committee in Sexual Health Medicine (TCSHM)

Dr Swaminathan Balasubramanian, Chair/ Coordinator of Advanced Training/ Accreditation Lead

Dr Nicholas Comninos, Deputy Chair and Lead for Overseas Trained Physicians

Dr Joanne Peel, Co-Lead for the Coordinator of Advanced Training, Co-Lead of Accreditation, Logbook Lead

Dr Rose Forster, Curricula Renewal Lead and Support of Overseas Trained Physicians

Dr Jane Shapiro, Co-Lead Curricula Renewal

Associate Professor Carole Khaw, Appointed Member/ Support the roles of the Coordinator of Advanced Training and Accreditation Lead

Close overlay