AMD Council

The Adult Medicine Division (AMD) Council meets twice a year and is governed by the Adult Medicine Division By-law.

To learn more about the Council news and activities, see AMD Council communiqués.

Council membership

Professor Donald Campbell, President and Chair

Professor Graeme Maguire, President-elect

Associate Professor Geoffrey Playford, AMD Education Committee Chair

Dr Tina Ahluwalia, Elected Member (Australia)

Associate Professor Rebecca Grainger, Elected Member Aotearoa New Zealand

Dr Sharmila Ramessur Chandran, Elected Member (Australia)

Dr Tristam Smyth, Elected Member (Australia)

Professor Brian Wood, Elected Member (Australia)

Dr David Martens, Advanced Trainee Representative

Dr Tom Wilkinson, Advanced Trainee Representative

Dr Anthony Deacon, Basic Trainee Representative

Dr Matthew Twining, Basic Trainee Representative

Professor Barbora De Courten, Lead Fellow – CPD

Professor Nicholas Lintzeris, Australasian Chapter of Addiction Medicine President

Dr Michelle Gold, Australasian Chapter of Palliative Medicine President

Associate Professor Catherine O’Connor, Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine representative

Dr Miranda Parakeva, Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine Committee representative

Dr Thomas Altree, Australasian Sleep Association representative

Dr Karl Baumgart, Australasian Society for Clinical Immunology & Allergy representative

Associate Professor Joshua Davis, Australasian Society for Infectious Diseases representative

Dr Bridin Murnion, Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists representative

Professor Pamela McCombe, Australian and New Zealand Association of Neurologists representative

Associate Professor Frances Milat, Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society representative

Dr Amanda Ormerod, Australian and New Zealand Society of Blood Transfusion representative

Professor Vasi Naganathan, Australian and New Zealand Society of Geriatric Medicine representative

Associate Professor Leeroy William, Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine representative

Associate Professor Steve Stranks, Australian Diabetes Society representative

Professor Catherine Hill, Australian Rheumatology Association representative

Associate Professor Diana Learoyd, Endocrine Society of Australia representative

Associate Professor Amany Zekry, Gastroenterological Society of Australia representative

Dr Leanne Berkahn, Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand representative

Dr Yemima Berman, Human Genetics Society of Australasia representative 

Dr Adrian Lee, Medical Oncology Group of Australia representative

Professor John Upham, Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand representative

Associate Professor Kate Wyburn, Transplantation Society of Australia and New Zealand representative

Associate Professor Sze Ting Lee, Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists

Professor Neil Boudville, Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology representative

Dr Anne Knight, Internal Medicine Society of Australia and New Zealand representative

Vacant Council positions

Aotearoa New Zealand AMD Committee Chair

Australian Society for Medical Research representative

Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand representative

Close overlay