AFRM Council

The Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM) Council is the peak decision-making body for AFRM. The Council's purpose is to develop strategic objectives for the AFRM in line with the College's strategic direction and implement as directed by the College Board.

We promote and advance the body of knowledge in rehabilitation medicine and act as the College’s authoritative source of advice.

The AFRM Council works with other College Bodies and staff to lead the education, training and assessment of AFRM trainees and support the ongoing training and professional development of all AFRM members.

We provide advice on training and education for Rehabilitation Medicine and support the professional development of AFRM members through Continuing Professional Development (CPD) activities.

With the wider community, we give advice and leadership on health policy, professional affairs, research or any other rehabilitation medicine related matters.

Read the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine By-law (PDF) for more information.


Dr Greg Bowring, President

Dr Jennifer Mann, President-elect

Professor Timothy Geraghty, Immediate Past President

Dr Caitlin Anderson, AFRM Education Committee Chair

Dr Malcolm Bowman, New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory Representative

Dr Venugopal Kochiyil, South Australia/Northern Territory Representative

Dr Richard Seemann, Aotearoa New Zealand Representative

Dr David Eckerman, Queensland Representative

Dr Yan Chow, Victoria/Tasmania Representative

Dr Jon Ho Chan , Western Australia Representative

Dr Lisa Copeland, Paediatric Representative

Dr Phillip Gaughwin, Trainee Representative

Contact us

Email the AFRM Council at

Close overlay