Adrian Paul Prize

Applications closed 31 October 2023.

The Adrian Paul Prize is awarded annually for the best scientific work in the field of rehabilitation medicine submitted as part of the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM) Advanced Training Program.

The Prize was established by the AFRM in 1986 through a donation by the late Mrs Nancy Paul, wife of the late Dr Adrian Paul, the Director of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine of the Royal Alfred Hospital.

Dr Yee Leng Loh | 2022 recipient


Dr Loh’s work and that of her colleagues has now been published. View the abstract “The impact of dementia on rehabilitation outcomes following hip fracture” at

Dr Yee Leng Loh is a new AFRM fellow currently working as a consultant at the Complex Management Unit in Gold Coast Hospital and Health Service (GCHHS), providing care to people with complex medical needs, and at Queensland Spinal Cord Injuries Service (QSCIS), providing in-reach consults to patients with acute spinal cord injuries. She first completed her degree in Malaysia in 2006. She is a collegiate MRCP(UK) member and worked as General Medicine Physician in Malaysia.

She first developed her interest in research in 2015 when she performed an audit on the availability of hand rubs in a medical unit, which subsequently drove a change of practice within the department. She recently published a case report on Surfer's myelopathy to improve awareness of spinal cord injury amongst novice surfers. She is keen to improve outcomes in patients with stroke, dementia, spinal cord and brain injuries. She is currently looking at the benefits of rehabilitation blanket referrals in improving the clinical outcomes of elderly with hip fractures. She is a current associate lecturer at the University of Queensland and is committed to teaching and guiding juniors.


Applicants must be a registered Advanced Trainee of the AFRM or a Fellow of the AFRM in the first year of their Fellowship.

Eligible Advanced Training Research Projects must have been first submitted as part of your training between 16 September 2022 and 15 September 2023.


The successful recipient receives AUD$1000 and a certificate, presented at the Convocation Ceremony.


Read the terms and conditions before you apply.

Your application must be submitted as a single PDF file, including:

  • an application form
  • a copy of your Advanced Training Research Project that was submitted between 16 September 2022 and 15 September 2023
Download form (DOC)

The College Conflicts Of Interest Policy (PDF) and Privacy Policy apply to the prize applicants and recipient.

Selection process

Three or more judges review all applications in consultation with the AFRM Education Committee.

All research projects will be assessed based on their content and originality.

The prize winner will be notified by the RACP Foundation.

The AFRM Education Committee reserves the right not to award a prize if all nominations received don't meet the sufficient standard.

For any questions or enquiries about the Adrian Paul Prize, contact us.

Related content

Past recipients
Terms and conditions
Division, Faculty and Chapter Awards and Prizes

Close overlay