Dr Boris Mak Rehabilitation Medicine Trainee Award for Best Presentation

Applications for 2024 abstract submissions open 28 March to 7 June 2024.

This award will be held at the 2024 Aotearoa NZ AFRM Symposium.

The prize is awarded for the best presentation by an Aotearoa New Zealand AFRM trainee at the annual New Zealand Rehabilitation Medicine Symposium.

This prize is made possible through the generosity of Dr Boris Mak's family.


This award is open to Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM) trainees residing in Aotearoa New Zealand only.


  • First place: NZD$1000
  • Second place: NZD$500


Read the terms and conditions and abstract guidelines (PDF) before applying.

You must email your application form and abstract as a single PDF file to AoNZ_AFRM@racp.org.nz by the deadline.

Download application form (DOC)

The College's Conflicts of Interest Policy (PDF) and Privacy Policy apply to the prize applicants and recipient.

Selection process

  1. Trainees who apply will be required to present at the Annual New Zealand Rehabilitation Medicine Symposium.

  2. Trainees must present work in which they have made a significant contribution to the concept and execution. Originality is important but not a primary consideration.

  3. The method of selection is to be competitive and judges will consider and select on the basis of the following criteria:
    • content (originality, significance and importance)
    • presentation (clarity of verbal communication, use of visual aids)
  4. The presentation should be 10 minutes in length and can be about a trainee’s current research, an interesting case study with associated scientific educational information or a Rehabilitation Medicine ‘hot topic’ of interest. An additional 3 minutes is allocated at the end of the presentation for questions and answers.

  5. At least 3 judges will be identified and acknowledged at the start of judging.

For more information on the Dr Boris Mak Rehabilitation Medicine Trainee Award, contact the AoNZ AFRM.

Related content

Past recipients
Division, Faculty and Chapter Awards and Prizes

Close overlay