Eric Susman Prize

Nominations closed 15 September 2023.

The Eric Susman Prize is a prestigious award presented by the College for best contribution to the knowledge of any branch of internal medicine (adult medicine and paediatrics). Learn about Dr Eric Susman who the prize honours.


The recipient is presented with the Eric Susman Medal at the RACP College Ceremony and also receives $5,000 with an invitation to present their research at an RACP Event in 2024.


Nominees must be:

  • a Fellow of the RACP, its Divisions, Faculties or Chapters
  • nominated by a Fellow or trainee of the RACP

Nominees cannot submit a nomination on their own behalf.


Read the terms and conditions before submitting a nomination.

Inform the nominee of your intent to submit a nomination.

Email a completed nomination form addressing the selection criteria to together with:

  • CV of the nominee
  • two letters of support
  • other relevant supporting documentation (optional)

Note: A nomination is not complete and cannot be progressed unless all required documentation is received.

Download nomination form (DOC)

The College Conflicts of Interest Policy (PDF) and Privacy Policy apply.

Selection criteria

The Eric Susman Prize recipient will have demonstrated an outstanding and lasting contribution to the field of internal medicine in the areas of research, teaching and/or clinical medicine.

Your nomination must:

  1. identify 2 key pieces of the published work by the nominee during the 5-year period from 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2022 that:
    1. highlight the nominee’s contribution to research and the impact the research has had
    2. have the nominee as the major contributor
    Note: 'Published work' is generally defined as being available to the profession by means of either books or articles published in recognised scientific journals.

  2. demonstrate the nominee's sustained ongoing links with Australia or Aotearoa New Zealand

  3. give an appreciation and evaluation of the contribution of the nominee over the relevant period, including:
    1. details of the contribution made by the person nominated in the field of internal medicine (research, teaching or clinical medicine)
    2. the originality of the research and the standing of the nominee in his or her branch of medicine
    3. an assessment of the contribution of the nominee in relation to others in the field
  4. provide information around the translation into clinical practice and impact

  5. indicate the best articles in support of the nominee

Selection process

The Grants Advisory Committee takes into consideration whether:

  • the work has a strong and direct bearing on clinical medicine and contains a component of patient care
  • the nominee is an ordinary Fellow rather than a someone admitted to Fellowship by a special provision

The Grants Advisory Committee reserves the right not to award the Eric Susman Prize if nominations received don't sufficiently meet the criteria.

Previous recipients

Professor Flavia Cicuttini
Joint 2021 recipient
Professor Stephen Nicholls
Joint 2021 recipient
Professor Prashanthan Sanders
Professor Prashanthan Sanders
2020 recipient

Professor Merlin Thomas
Professor Merlin Thomas
2019 recipient

Professor Ranjeny Thomas
2018 recipient

Professor Christopher Fairley
Joint 2017 recipient

Professor Andrew Roberts
Joint 2017 recipient

Professor Ostoja (Steve) Vucic
2016 recipient

Professor Pestell
Professor Richard Pestell
2015 recipient

The Prize was not awarded in 2022.

See past Eric Susman Prize recipients.

Close overlay