College Council

The Board established the College Council in 2015 to act as its peak advisory body on strategic and cross-College issues.

The College Council responds to issues the Board refers to it and raises issues to the Board that the College Council feels need consideration.

The composition of the College Council enables a variety of member and non-member perspectives to be heard in a single forum.

The Council is a representative body of up to 47 Fellows and trainees that includes:

  • a Fellow appointed by the Aotearoa New Zealand Committee
  • a representative from each of the 26 identified Education Pathways (including Chapters) within the College
  • a Fellow appointed by each RACP Division Council
  • a Fellow appointed by each RACP Faculty Council
  • up to 4 trainees appointed by the College Trainees’ Committee
  • a Fellow appointed by each of the 7 Australian Regional Committees
  • a Māori representative and an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander representative, who may be Fellows, trainees or non-members of the RACP
  • a consumer representative from the RACP appointed Consumer Advisory Group or an approved delegate
  • the Chair of the College Education Committee

For more information, read the College Council By-law (PDF).

The College Council has established two working groups to further key initiatives:

Council composition

College Council composition diagram

RACP Board Directors may attend Council meetings.


Chair Associate Professor Catherine O'Connor
Deputy Chair Dr Aidan Tan
Australian regional representatives
New South Wales and Australian Capital Territory Dr Sayontonee Ghosh
Northern Territory Dr Richard Budd
Queensland Professor Tony Rahman
South Australia Vacant 
Tasmania Dr Matt Lee-Archer
Victoria Associate Professor Annabel Martin
Western Australia Dr Poh-Kooi Loh

*Term ended, awaiting appointment (interim members)
**Pending Board approval

2023 Meeting dates

Friday 17 November | Zoom
Friday 14 December | In-person Board and College Council strategy day

For all College Council enquiries, contact the Council Secretariat at

Close overlay