Grants Advisory Committees

The Grants Advisory Committees (GACs) are skills-based committees formed to provide guidance to the RACP Foundation. The GACs generously contribute their expertise and time assessing applications for scholarships, fellowships or awards offered through the RACP Foundation.

The GACs direction allows available funding to go towards supporting basic and clinical medical research and medical education, health services research and population health research in accordance with the College Strategic Plan (PDF).

Applications are assessed on the basis of:

  • research or educational excellence
  • the merit of the proposed program of research or study
  • the specific requirements of individual awards
  • the priority areas for funding listed under each award
  • any other criteria determined by the committee


Professor Graham Lieschke, Chair | AMD

Professor Catherine Choong, Deputy Chair | PCHD 

Professor Andrew Day, Aotearoa NZ Chair | PCHD 

Professor Hugh Dickson | AFRM

A/Professor David Heslop | AFOEM

Dr John Holmes | AFPHM

Professor Gerald Holtman | AMD 

A/Professor Atul Malhotra | PCHD

Professor Andrew Mallett | AMD

Professor Christopher Rayner | AMD

Professor Anita Wluka | AMD

Aotearoa New Zealand membership

Professor Andrew Day, Chair | PCHD

Dr Rebecca Grainger | AMD 

Professor Philip Hill | AMD

2 x vacant positions

Jacquot Selection Committee

The Jacquot Selection Committee also includes representatives from the GAC.

Professor Carmel Hawley, Co-Chair | AMD, Nephrology

Professor Richard Kitching, Co-Chair | AMD, Nephrology

Dr Brooke Huuskes | AMD, Nephrology

Professor Meg Jardine | AMD, Nephrology

Professor Rob MacGinley | AMD, Nephrology (GAC 2021)

Professor Robert Walker | AMD, Nephrology

Additional reviewers

Thank you to the Fellows who have generously contributed their time and expertise to assist in the review of over 250 applications for the 2022 RACP Research Awards.

Professor Paul Gatenby | AMD

Professor Mathis Grossmann | AMD, ESA

Professor Michael Horowitz | AMD (GAC Chair 2021)

Dr Joseph Lee | AMD

Professor Lyn March | AMD, ARA

A/Professor Mandana Nikpour | AMD, ARA

Professor Christopher Nolan | AMD, Diabetes Australia

Dr Tony Ryan | AMD IMSANZ

Professor Ranjeny Thomas | AMD, ARA

Professor Kumar Visvanathan | AMD (GAC 2021)

Dr Philip Britton | PCHD

A/Professor Paul Fullerton | PCHD

Professor Harriet Hiscock | PCHD

Dr Tony Huynh | PCHD

Dr Valerie Sung | PCHD

Dr Alison Drewry | AFOEM (GAC 2021)

Dr Zoe Adey-Wakeling | AFRM

Professor Steven Faux | AFRM

Professor Ruth Marshall |AFRM (GAC 2021)

A/Professor Michael Pollack | AFRM

Professor Steve Kisely | AFPHM, AChAM (GAC 2021)

Professor Christopher Fairley | AChSHM

Dr Massimo Giola | AChSHM

Dr Carol Khaw | AChSHM

Dr Nick Medland | AChSHM

Close overlay