Aotearoa New Zealand Paediatrics & Child Health Division Committee

The Aotearoa New Zealand Committee established the Aotearoa New Zealand Paediatrics & Child Health Division Committee to support the professional careers of Fellows and trainees in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Our support incorporates tikanga Māori values of:

  • manaakitanga | hospitality, kindness and support
  • whanaungatanga | relationships, sense of family connection
  • mōhiotanga | knowledge, understanding and insight

We advocate, promote and advance the body of knowledge around paediatric medicine and health care of children and young adults, with emphasis on the needs of tamariki (Māori children) and Pasifika (Pacific children).

Mā te rongomaiwhiti o te tamaiti e arahi ā tātou mahi —
“Let the uniqueness of the child guide our work”

We acknowledge Te Tiriti ō Waitangi | The Treaty of Waitangi and the foundational principles of bicultural partnership, participation and protection it guarantees. Our policies consider the impact on wellbeing and mana of Māori as tangata whenua and ensure the above values are upheld.

For more information, read the Aotearoa NZ PCHD Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Committee membership

Dr Hamish McCay | Chair

Dr Jessica Allen | Deputy Chair

Associate Professor Nicola Austin | Neonates Representative

Dr Howard Grigg | Trainee Representative

Dr Wendy Hunter

Dr Ross Nicholson | Aotearoa NZ PCHD Education Committee Representative

Dr Kai Steinmann | Paediatric Society of New Zealand Representative

Associate Professor John Thompson | Paediatric Society of New Zealand Representative

Dr Alison Vogel | PCHD Policy and Advocacy Committee Representative


Contact us for more information about this or other Aotearoa NZ Committees.

Close overlay