AChSHM Award for Best Postgraduate Thesis in Sexual Health Medicine

Nominations open 1 June and close 31 August 2022.

The Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine (AChSHM) recognises the importance of training its workforce in research. AChSHM every year honours a Chapter member for their outstanding postgraduate work.


A nominee must be a registered Fellow or trainee of the AChSHM, who has been awarded a doctorate or masters by research thesis within the last 5 years. You can self-nominate.

Previous recipients of the Award are ineligible for nomination.


The successful recipient is formally presented with a certificate at the AChSHM Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM).

Selection criteria

The nominator must provide an evaluation of the contribution the nominee’s thesis has made. This can include the:

  • quality of the publications
  • contribution the work is likely to make in the future to sexual health medicine
  • translation into changes in public health or clinical practice
  • commercialisation of a product


Before proceeding, read the terms and conditions and notify your nominee of your intent to nominate them. 

You can self-nominate. Nominators must be a registered Fellow or trainee of the AChSHM.

Submit your nomination form and supporting documents in a single PDF file to


The College Conflicts of Interest Policy (PDF) and Privacy Policy apply to the prize nominees and recipient.

Selection process

All nominations will be assessed by an Award Review Panel, comprised of the Chapter President and appointed Fellows.

The AChSHM will announce the recipient at the AChSHM ASM in 2023.

The Award Review Panel and AChSHM reserves the right to not award the prize if there are no nominations of a sufficiently high standard.

For more information about this Award, contact the RACP Foundation.

Dr Vincent Cornelisse | 2022 recipient

Vincent is a staff specialist in sexual health medicine at Kirketon Road Centre (NSW Health) in Kings Cross, Sydney. He completed his PhD in sexual health epidemiology in 2018 at Melbourne Sexual Health Centre (Monash University). In his thesis titled “Epidemiology of gonorrhoea, chlamydia and HIV in men who have sex with men, and evaluation of new prevention strategies.” he particularly examined the transmission dynamics of gonorrhoea between men, including the role of kissing as a significant mode of gonorrhoea transmission. This has major implications for gonorrhoea control, as current prevention strategies (i.e. condoms) do not address this mode of transmission.

His other research efforts focus on the implementation of HIV pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), and the interplay between PrEP use and other sexually transmitted infections and blood borne viruses such as hepatitis C.

Ultimately, Vincent's research aims to make his clinical role redundant, by creating a world free of HIV and other sexually transmissible infections.

Dr Vincent Cornelisse
Close overlay