Jan Edwards Prize

Applications are closed.

The Jan Edwards Prize is awarded for the best research-based abstract oral presentation by a registered Australasian Chapter of Sexual Health Medicine (AChSHM) trainee.

The Prize is named in honour of Dr Jan Edwards, the long-serving Executive Secretary of the former Australasian College of Sexual Health Physicians (ACSHP). Dr Edwards served 19 years with the ACSHP and oversaw its transition into the current AChSHM of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.


Applicants must be a registered AChSHM trainee.

Previous Jan Edwards Prize recipients are ineligible to apply again.


The recipient will receive $500 and a certificate.

The College Conflicts Of Interest Policy (PDF) and Privacy Policy apply to the prize nominees and recipients.

Selection process

Abstracts submitted for this award will be reviewed by an Award Review Panel consisting of members of the AChSHM.

Those of sufficiently high standard will be selected for oral presentation at the 2022 Joint Australasian HIV & AIDS and Sexual Health Conference.

Your research-based abstract should be about original and unpublished observations made by you.

Judging criteria of the presentations will take into account:

  • scientific merit
  • quality of data
  • research-based abstract
  • contribution to knowledge
  • presentation and adherence to time
  • response to questions

Presentation length: 12 minutes maximum, with an additional 3 minutes for questions.

The Review Panel reserves the right not to award a prize if none of the presentations are of a sufficient standard.

For more information about the Jan Edwards Prize, contact us.

Related content

2022 Joint Australasian HIV & AIDS and Sexual Health Conference
Division, Faculty and Chapter Awards & Prizes
Past recipients

Close overlay