Common standards

The Common Standards for Advanced Training are finalised.

The Common Standards (PDF) were developed by the RACP Curriculum Advisory Group and Curriculum Development Unit and have undergone extensive consultation to:

  • ensure the standards are at an appropriate level for the end of Advanced Training
  • ensure the standards are assessable
  • elicit feedback from a broad range of stakeholders to refine the standards.

There remains more work to be done to ensure the competencies for the Cultural Competence domain are appropriate. Development and consultation will continue in this area.

Ongoing development

The next stages of this project involve developing a common learning, teaching and assessment framework for Advanced Training in accordance with the RACP curriculum model, developing the curriculum content that is unique to each specialty, and planning for implementation.

The College relies on feedback from its members, partner organisations and consumers to ensure that our curricula are feasible and fit-for-purpose. As we continue to develop elements of the new curricula in future stages of this project, draft content will be made available for consultation.

Case for Common Standards

The introduction of common content across many curricula is a key aspect of Advanced Training Curricula Renewal.

In the move toward competency-based training, having common standards for the Advanced Training Curricula will:

  • allow content development processes to be streamlined
  • benchmark content across programs to demonstrate equivalency
  • better facilitate dual training arrangements

The Common Standards are not an entire curriculum, they are a component. In the new RACP curriculum model, a whole curriculum will comprise of a mixture of common curricula content and content that is unique to that specialty. Some specialties will start developing their program-specific content in 2020 with assistance from the Curriculum Advisory Group and RACP Curriculum Team.

Applicability of standards

The standards consist of a set of competencies, organised into 10 domains and 13 Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs).

Competencies will apply to all Divisional Training Programs. Applicability to some Faculty Training Programs will vary and require discussion with each specialty group. Applicability to the Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine is also to be determined.

The common EPAs can be divided into two groups: those that will apply across all training programs (EPA 1: Team leadership and EPA 2: Supervision and teaching) and those likely to apply to many or some programs.

Close overlay