AFOEM Council

The Australasian Faculty of Occupational and Environmental Medicine (AFOEM) Council is responsible for the governance and direction of the Faculty, its committees and working groups.

The Faculty's function is to support the professional careers of Fellows and trainees of the Faculty through working with appropriate College Bodies and staff in relation to:

  • education, training and assessment of trainees
  • training and continual professional development
  • policy and advocacy
  • the assessment of overseas trained professionals
  • research
  • workforce

The AFOEM Council promotes and advance the body of knowledge in occupational and environmental medicine and act as an authoritative source of advice within the College. The Council is also responsible for recommendations of Faculty membership candidates to the College Board.

Read the Australasian Faculty of Occupational & Environmental Medicine By-law (PDF).

Council members

Dr Warren Harrex, President

Dr Armand Casolin, President-elect and AFOEM Policy & Advocacy Committee Chair

Dr Catherine Kelaher, ACT representative

Dr Geraint Emrys, Aotearoa NZ representative

Dr Farhan Shahzad, NSW representative

Dr Robin Lee O’Toole (Sid), QLD/NT representative

Dr Ilse-Marie Stockhoff, SA representative

Dr Peter Sharman, TAS representative

vacant, VIC representative

Dr Karina Powers, WA representative

Dr Tony Brown, AFOEM Education Committee Chair 

Dr Dominic Yong, ANZSOM representative

Dr Peter Honeyman, Environmental Medicine Lead Fellow

Dr Maartje Lyons, Trainee representative

Executive members

Dr Warren Harrex, President and Chair

Dr Armand Casolin, President-elect and AFOEM Policy & Advocacy Committee Chair

A/Prof Tony Brown, AFOEM Education Committee Chair

Dr Geraint Emrys, AFOEM Aotearoa New Zealand Committee Chair

Close overlay