AFRM Regional Committees

Fellows of the Faculty residing in each State or Territory of Australia and New Zealand constitute the six separate AFRM regions.

The AFRM regional committees run training and continuing professional development programs for rehabilitation medicine Fellows and trainees and, develop educational resources for rehabilitation medicine.

Regional committees advise the AFRM Council on matters relevant to their area and prepare committee project proposals for the approval by the Faculty Council. A regional committee will then go on to develop and manage their approved project.

Promoting Rehabilitation Medicine is an important role of each committee. Each regional committee, under the direction of the Faculty, responds to new and emerging Rehabilitation Medicine issues and contributes to policy and advocacy activities. Learn more about the AFRM and its activities.

All AFRM members are automatically part of their regional membership. Read the AFRM Regional Committee Terms of Reference.

For more information or to contact your regional committee, email


NSW/ACT | New Zealand | Queensland | SA/NT | VIC/TAS | Western Australia

New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory


vacant, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
vacant, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Tai-Tak Wan, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
Dr Morgan Hee, Trainee representative

New Zealand


Dr Cynthia Bennett, Chair
Dr Hung Kai Chen, Honorary Secretary
Dr Bensy Mathew, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Robin Sekerak, AFRM Policy and Advocacy Representative
Dr Kathryn Edward, Member
Dr Kwok Ping Tay, Trainee representative

Contact the New Zealand committee at

Key event

Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine NZ Symposium 2019



Dr David Eckerman, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
Dr Isuri Kiriella, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Cassandra McLennan, AFRM Policy and Advocacy Committee Representative
Dr Wilbur Kar Man Chan, Member
Dr Chau Thiem Diem Do, Trainee Representative

Read about The Early History of Rehabilitation Medicine in Queensland (PDF 2015).

South Australia/Northern Territory


Dr Venugopal Kochiyil, Chair
Dr Zoe Adey-Wakeling, Honorary Secretary
Dr Swatee Jena, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Rabin Bhandari, AFRM Policy & Advocacy Committee representative
Dr Anupam Datta-Gupta, Member
Dr Shailaja Hima Venugopal, Member
Dr Kisani Manuel, Trainee representative



Dr David Murphy, Chair
Dr Jill Collins, Honorary Secretary
Dr Rob Weller, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Lisa Sherry, Policy and Advocacy Committee representative
Dr Michael Chou, Member
Dr Yan Chow, Member
Dr Warren Jennings-Bell, Member
Dr Imogen Windle, Trainee representative

Western Australia


Dr Jon Ho Chan, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
Dr Emma-Leigh Synnott, Regional Training Coordinator
vacant, AFRM Policy and Advocacy Committee Representative
Dr Christopher Martin, Trainee Representative

To ensure that RACP processes remain fair and robust, including our reconsideration, review and appeal process, it is important that individual Committee members are not contacted directly regarding any matters that are or potentially under consideration. College members should address all correspondence to the committee secretariat.
Close overlay