AFRM Training Committee

The AFRM Training Committee's purpose is to monitor and approve individual trainee progress in Rehabilitation Medicine. Upon completion of training requirements, the Committee confirms a trainee's progress to Fellowship.

We advise on recruitment, support and development of trainees and facilitate approvals for Recognition of Prior Learning. As well, we provide guidance and advice to Rehabilitation Medicine supervisors.

The Committee continues to collaborate with stakeholders on education implementation and advises the College Education Committee on training program changes.


Associate Professor Louisa Ng, Chair

Dr Bensy Mathew, Deputy Chair and Aotearoa New Zealand Representative

Dr Sharon Wong, Accreditation Lead 

Dr Ed Lewis, Trainee Representative

Dr Olivia Lee, Paediatric Representative

Dr Louis Baggio, Member

Dr Ashlyn Baker, Member

Dr Karen Chia, Member 

Dr Alaeldin Elmalik, Member

Dr Asma Taskin, Member

Dr Hilary Taylor-Evans, Member

Contact us

Email the AFRM Training Committee at

Close overlay