AFRM Regional Committees

Fellows of the Faculty residing in each State or Territory of Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand constitute the six separate AFRM regions.

The AFRM regional committees run training and continuing professional development programs for rehabilitation medicine Fellows and trainees and, develop educational resources for rehabilitation medicine.

Regional committees advise the AFRM Council on matters relevant to their area and prepare committee project proposals for the approval by the Faculty Council. A regional committee will then go on to develop and manage their approved project.

Promoting rehabilitation medicine is an important role of each committee. Each regional committee, under the direction of the Faculty, responds to new and emerging rehabilitation medicine issues and contributes to policy and advocacy activities. Learn more about the AFRM and its activities.

All AFRM members are automatically part of their regional membership. Read the AFRM Regional Committee Terms of Reference (PDF) and Aotearoa NZ AFRM Committee Terms of Reference (PDF).

Aotearoa NZ | NSW/ACT | Queensland | SA/NT | VIC/TAS | Western Australia

Aotearoa New Zealand


Dr Richard Seeman, Chair
Dr Dawn Adair, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
Dr Toni Auchinvole, AFRM Education Committee
Dr Michael Dawson, AFRM Trainee Committee representative
Dr Jimmy Chong, AFRM Paediatric representative
Dr Sue Kim, AFRM Assessment Committee
Dr Kellie Nichol, Member
Dr Sheela Perumal, Regional Training Co-ordinator
Vacant, AFRM Training Committee

View the AFRM Aotearoa NZ Committee Terms of Reference (PDF)

New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory


Dr Malcolm Bowman, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
Dr Fey-Ching Un, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Tai-Tak Wan, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
Dr Morgan Hee
Dr Stephanie Lam
Dr Atif Shahzad



Dr David Eckerman, Chair
Dr Teresa Boyle, Honorary Secretary
Dr Cassandra McLennan, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Sarah Leeder, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
vacant, Member
Dr Sarah Anderson, Trainee representative

Read about The Early History of Rehabilitation Medicine in Queensland (PDF)

South Australia/Northern Territory


Dr Venugopal Kochiyil, Chair
Dr Cristina Manu, Honorary Secretary
Dr Vun Vun Wong, Regional Training Coordinator
vacant, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
Dr Kisani Manuel
vacant, Member
Dr Meredith Daff, Trainee representative



Dr Yan Chow, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
Dr Krystal Song, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Lisa Sherry, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
Dr Carla Francesconi
Dr David Murphy
Dr Michael Njovu
Dr Michael Ponsford
Dr Kavitha Muthukrishnan, Trainee representative

Western Australia


Dr Jon Ho Chan, Chair
vacant, Honorary Secretary
vacant, Regional Training Coordinator
Dr Emma-Leigh Synnott, AFRM Policy and Advocacy representative
vacant, Member
vacant, Trainee representative

To ensure that RACP processes remain fair and robust, including our reconsideration, review and appeal process, it is important that individual Committee members are not contacted directly regarding any matters that are or potentially under consideration. College members should address all correspondence to the committee secretariat.
Close overlay