College Policy and Advocacy Council

The College Policy and Advocacy Council and Advisory Committee

Within the College there consists two cross-College policy and advocacy groups, the Council and its Advisory Committee. The Council is the peak decision making and strategic planning body while the Advisory Committee meets between Council meetings to make decisions that need to be finalised in a shorter timeframe.

In matters of Policy and Advocacy, the Council and Advisory Committee were established to:-

  • determine the key policy priorities and activities for the whole College in a manner that aligns the needs of Members and the community;
  • consult with Specialty Societies and other external bodies on policy and advocacy matters and priorities to maximise effective outcomes;
  • respond to emerging policy and advocacy issues that are relevant to the College Members and the community; and
  • promote the role of the College, Fellows and trainees in improving the quality and safety of health care in Australia and New Zealand;
Read the College Policy and Advocacy Committee by-laws

Read the The College Policy and Advocacy Committee (CPAC) Guiding Principles

These principles are intended to inform decision-making around policy priorities and allocation of P&A resources.

College Policy and Advocacy Council Membership

The Council is a representational body of 27 members, including those members of the Advisory Committee.

The Council is going through a turnover period, as such some of the positions are waiting to change over whilst their representative College bodies also undergo turnover and identify their Council member.

(in alphabetical order by surname)

Greg Bowring, AFRM President-Elect and Faculty P&A Committee (PAC) Chair

Jeff Brown, NZ Committee (TBC)   

Nick Buckmaster, CPAC AC

Don Campbell, AMD President-Elect

Sophia Couzos, CPAC AC

Gregory Crawford, AChPM President 

John Eastwood, CPAC AC

Niki Ellis, CPAC Chair

Christian Gericke, CPAC Deputy Chair

Warren Harrex, AFOEM PAC Chair

Noel Hayman, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Committee Chair

George Laking, CPAC AC and Maori Health Committee

Adrian Lee, NSW/ACT Regional Committee

Winston Liauw, CPAC AC

Nick Lintzeris, AChAM President-Elect

Jenny Martin, CPAC AC

Rajesh Raj, TAS Regional Committee

Helen Rhodes, WA Regional Committee (temp) 

Nathan Ryder, AChSHM Committee Policy and Advocacy Lead 

Judy Savige, VIC Regional Committee

Gillian Shenfield, CPAC AC

Li-Zsa Tan, QLD Regional Committee

Pat Tuohy, PCHD PAC Chair

Robert Van Den Berg, SA Regional Committee

Peter Wallis, NT Regional Committee

AFPHM (vacant)

College Trainee Committee (vacant

College Policy and Advocacy Council Advisory Committee Membership

The Advisory Committee is a nine-member body, established through a merits based selection and appointment process, including the Chair and Deputy Chair of Council.

Nick Buckmaster, member

Sophie Couzos, member

John Eastwood, member

Niki Ellis, Chair

Christian Gericke, Deputy Chair

George Laking, member

Winston Liauw, member

Jenny Martin, member

Gillian Shenfield, member

Current CPAC–AC term runs 2017 - 2020.

Contact us

Contact the Policy and Advocacy Unit at for further information on the College Policy and Advocacy Council and its Advisory Committee.

Close overlay