John Sands Medal

Nominations closed Thursday 30 September 2021.

The John Sands Medal recognises a Fellow who makes a significant contribution to the welfare of the RACP. This award provides an opportunity to recognise the substantial and influential contribution the award recipient has made.

The prestigious prize, made possible by a bequest from the late Dr John Sands, is awarded by the RACP annually at the Congress Ceremony.

Professor Gregory Crawford | 2021 recipient

Professor Gregory CrawfordProfessor Gregory Crawford is a long-standing contributor to the RACP. He has been involved with the Australasian Chapter of Palliative Medicine (AChPM) Education Committee for 8 years and currently has an ongoing 5-year involvement with the AChPM, which included his Presidency from 2018 to 2020. Gregory is currently on the RACP Council and has also held several other College positions. He has advocated for palliative medicine and has collaborated with many stakeholders to ensure optimal care is provided for all in our communities.

See our past John Sands Medal recipients.


Any Australian or Aotearoa New Zealand Fellow of an RACP Division, Faculty and/or Chapter is eligible for nomination.

Ineligible nominees are those who:

  • self-nominate
  • are a current RACP Board member
  • are a current RACP staff member
  • have held the office of President of the RACP
  • are a past recipient of the John Sands Medal

All RACP Fellows and trainees can nominate an eligible RACP Fellow.


The John Sands Medal recipient receives:

  • the John Sands Medal, presented at the 2022 RACP College Ceremony
  • full registration to 2022 RACP Congress
  • travel and accommodation to attend the 2022 RACP College Ceremony

Selection criteria

The assessment of the nominee's contribution in relation to others is an essential part of the nomination.

In your nomination, you must detail the contributions of the nominee and how they have meaningfully impacted the RACP and its activities against all of the selection criteria:

1. Contribution to the College

How has the nominee made a significant and sustained contribution to the welfare of the RACP, its member and staff?

2. Professional Leadership

What evidence is there of the nominee's outstanding leadership through their primary roles and contributions on Working Groups and/or Committees within the RACP?

3. Advocacy

How has the nominee performed significant advocacy on behalf of the RACP and/or its members of the College in policy, research or other areas of importance?

4. Representation

In what ways has the nominee played an integral role in one or more of these areas?:

  • Representing the RACP and its members in the international arena and/or international affairs
  • Establishing and maintaining relationships and/or collaborations with international or domestic organisations on behalf of the RACP and its members
  • Promoting the RACP within Australia and/or Aotearoa New Zealand
5. Teaching and professional education to future and current physicians

What evidence is there of the nominee demonstrating:

  • leadership and innovation in teaching and professional education to RACP trainees?
  • a significant commitment to mentoring and training current trainees?
  • a significant commitment to improving educational standards and methodology?

Selection process

The RACP Fellowship Committee reviews all nominations and recommends a deserving recipient to the RACP Board.

The RACP Board reserves the right not to award the John Sands Medal if they feel the recommendation and/or all nominations presented don't sufficiently meet the criteria.

For more information about The John Sands Medal, contact the RACP Foundation.

Related content

Terms and conditions
Past prize recipients
College and Congress prizes

Close overlay