Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine

COVID-19 interim changes to program requirements

In 2023, you're expected to satisfactorily complete all training program requirements. If you’re unable to complete training requirements due to COVID-19, see interim changes to requirements and education and training principles, and advise your training committee as soon as possible.

You're viewing the 2023 – 2024 handbook

Program overview

From 1 February 2024, we’re renaming the Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine to Clinical Foundation in Palliative Medicine. Program content will remain unchanged.
The term Diploma is a protected higher education award, regulated by the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA). The name change is required to ensure the RACP is compliant with the TEQSA Act 2011.

Palliative MedicineThe Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine program provides general practitioners and physicians clinical experience in palliative medicine. It aims to expand their expertise to handle the palliative care needs of patients in their practice.

Program updates

The Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine program is evaluated biennially by the Training Committee in Palliative Medicine (TCPM) to ensure that it’s in line with educational best practice. Changes in program requirements may occur and could impact your training plan. The College will provide sufficient notice prior to implementing any change. You must always ensure you’re following the correct requirements during your training.

Entry requirements

All prospective trainees must have:

Trainees cannot complete the Advanced Training in Palliative Medicine and the Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine programs simultaneously.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) applications will not be accepted for the Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine.


The Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine requires 6 months of full-time equivalent (FTE) training undertaken at an accredited setting.


Successful trainees are awarded a Clinical Diploma in Palliative Medicine, confirming the completion of the program and recognising their expertise in palliative care medicine only.

Your qualification doesn't confer eligibility for specialist recognition in palliative care medicine.


Australia | Under the Medical Board of Australia's specialist register, the use of the title 'Specialist Palliative Medicine Physician' is not allowed.

Aotearoa New Zealand | The qualification does not grant eligibility to apply to the Medical Council of New Zealand for vocational registration in palliative medicine or the use of the title 'Palliative Medicine Physician/Specialist'.

Close overlay