Rehabilitation medicine

Rehabilitation medicine is one of the first 6 Advanced Training (AT) specialties to undertake the AT Curricula Renewal specialty development process.

The Faculty Education Committee (FEC) in Rehabilitation Medicine established a Curriculum Review Group to develop a new curriculum for general rehabilitation medicine. 

five stages: plan, develop, consult, finalise, implement. consult is highlighted

Consultation has now closed

Consultation on the new rehabilitation medicine curriculum has now closed. Thank you to everyone who provided feedback. The Curriculum Review Group will consider the feedback and revise the curriculum accordingly. The consultation drafts of the new curriculum can be accessed below.  

The new curriculum

At a glance (PDF) – high level overview of the new curriculum

Draft curriculum standards (PDF) – outlines what trainees need to learn

Specialty program handbook (PDF) – how trainees are going to demonstrate their learning

Learning, teaching and assessment program changes (PDF) – overview of proposed updates to the training program requirements 

Curriculum Review Group responsibilities

The Group's responsibilities are to:

  • evaluate the current state of the training program and make recommendations about how it can be improved
  • design and develop a draft new curriculum according to the RACP curriculum model, including curriculum standards and learning, teaching and assessment programs
  • plan a consultation on the new curriculum, including mapping relevant stakeholders
  • review the draft curriculum and make recommendations for changes in response to stakeholder feedback
  • draft a plan for implementing the new curriculum


The Group has representation from trainees, a new Fellow, Aotearoa New Zealand members and the Rehabilitation Medicine Society of Australia and New Zealand (RMSANZ).


Dr Jon Ho Chan FAFRM | Chair
Jon is a rehabilitation medicine physician at Fiona Stanley Hospital. He has been involved in medical education at undergraduate and prevocational levels and is an Adjunct Clinical Senior Lecturer at Curtin University. Jon is a member of the Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM) Council, the Chair of the AFRM WA Regional Committee and Deputy Chair of the AFRM Education Committee. He has a particular interest in workplace-based assessment, accreditation and assessment of professionalism.


Dr Louis Baggio FAFRM | Member
Louis is the Director of Wagga Wagga Base Hospital Rehabilitation Service. Louis has been instrumental in the development and implementation of ambulatory and in-reach services at WWBH and outreach inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation services to the Murrumbidgee Local Health District. Louis has a long-standing involvement with AFRM sitting on a variety of committees and is an accredited supervisor and ITLCA assessor. Louis is also a conjoint lecturer with the UNSW Rural Clinical School.


Dr David Eckerman FAFRM | Member
David is a senior Rehabilitation Medicine Consultant Physician practicing in the Sunshine Coast and Redcliffe Peninsula. He specialises in neurological rehabilitation, spinal medicine, brain injury rehabilitation, geriatric and orthopaedic rehabilitation. He is interested in spasticity/dystonia management, therapeutic use of botulinum toxin, stroke rehabilitation and neurodegenerative diseases, as well as movement disorder rehabilitation, musculoskeletal medicine and rehabilitation in chronic pain.


Dr Sachi Fernando FAFRM | Member
New Fellow representative
Sachi works as a rehabilitation medicine physician, with her most recent appointment being at Maclean District Hospital. Having gained her Fellowship in 2020, she is acutely aware of issues and challenges facing current trainees. Sachi is passionate about supervision and professional development of trainees and looks forward to working in the Curriculum Review Group to review the current curriculum.


Dr Philip Gaughwin | Member
Trainee representative
Philip is an Advanced Trainee. and currently employed at University of Canberra Hospital. He holds a PhD in Clinical Neuroscience from the University of Cambridge Centre for Brain Repair, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, where he developed an interest in regenerative medicine and neurorehabilitation. Philip is Chair of the AFRM Trainee Committee and on the College Trainee Committee and AFRM Council.


Dr Susan Graham FAFRM | Member
Susan has been a Rehabilitation Physician in Sydney and Brisbane since 2003 and a Visiting Medical Practitioner at St Andrew’s War Memorial Hospital and Wesley Hospital since 2011. She completed a PhD assessing rehabilitation services in Australia, holds an academic title with the University of Queensland Faculty of Medicine, is involved in medical student assessment and completed a post-doctoral research fellowship in medical education.


Dr Sarah Kofoed FAFRM | Member
Sarah is the Rehabilitation Medicine Training Victoria (RMTV) visiting medical officer. Sarah has a special interest in oncology rehabilitation and has served as a member of the Supportive Care Screening Tool steering committee at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. She has a strong interest in medical education and is involved in running the local Advanced Training program. She served as a member on the AFRM Victorian Branch Committee as a trainee.


Dr Stephanie Lam FAFRM | Member
New Fellow representative
Stephanie completed her undergraduate bachelor degree in Physiotherapy from the University of Sydney in 2010 and a post-graduate MBBS from the University of Notre Dame, Sydney in 2014. She received AFRM Fellowship in November 2020 and is currently working as a Rehabilitation Physician at Lakeview Private Hospital and as a temporary Staff Specialist at Westmead Community Brain Injury Rehabilitation Service.


Dr Lynette Lee FAFRM | Member
Lynette has Fellowships in Rehabilitation Medicine, Pain Management and Medical Administration and has been a syllabus developer, clinical supervisor and examiner in these areas. She has been involved in curriculum development in undergraduate and postgraduate medical schools. Lynette is currently the Dean of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators and leading the processes required to achieve a renewal of its curriculum.

Image unavailable

Dr Rachael Nunan FAFRM | Member
Racheal is a Senior Staff Specialist at the Brain Injury Rehabilitation Unit, Princess Alexandra Hospital. She has a long-standing interest in education and assessment, she has been involved in College activities as Coordinator of AFRM Faculty Clinical Examination. Rachael’s clinical interests include spasticity and hypertonicity management.


Dr Juan Rodriguez | Member
Trainee and Aotearoa New Zealand representative
Juan is currently a Registrar in Rehabilitation Medicine based in Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand. He has worked in Rehabilitation Medicine in Europe and is keen to contribute with his knowledge of international curricula to the renewal of the RACP Rehabilitation Medicine Curriculum.


Prof Stephen Opat FRACP FRCPA | Advisor from RACP Curriculum Advisory Group
Stephen is Director of Clinical Haematology at Monash Health and Clinical Professor at the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash University. He is the founder and chair of the Lymphoma and Related Diseases Registry and a Principal Investigator on many lymphoid cancer trials. Stephen is ex-president of the Haematology Society of Australia and New Zealand and was coordinator of Advanced Training on the Joint Specialist Advisory Committee in Haematology.

Close overlay